top of page

What Is It Really Like To Work With Your Mom?

Leading the way in the Mother-Daughter Tour Industry is a wild adventure. We've traveled across the U.S. and abroad for nearly 8 years. Those trips have brought us closer together. We've seen each other at our worst, and at our best.


My mom has seen me laying in the bathroom with food poisoning from a pizza place in Ohio, and she has seen me exchange Rotary Flags with a club in the United Kingdom. When you travel together, you begin to see the world around you from the other persons perspective. Plus, how else are you going to get through the 8 hour drive to D.C. by anything other that chit-chatting and music jam-session (cue Bohemian Rhapsody).


Oddly enough, we have a lot of matching outfits.. by default. We somehow get on the same wavelength of thought and we'll come out our dressing areas wearing similar outfits without even trying.


clothes and shoes

Yes - We Can Be Best Friends

Is everyday easy? No.

Is everyday fun? No.

Is everyday filled with adventure? Kinda.


Everyday we are working very hard to host beautiful women from across the world, and making their dream vacation come to life. We love our job because we get to celebrate women! Even though we work in the travel industry doesn't mean every day is a vacation for us. However, it has been an absolute blessing to conduct our business across the United States. I find myself working in coffee shops all over the place - it has been a delicious "office."


We have put in a lot of hardworking hours, as I am sure you have put in long hours at your job too. Some days are tough, aren't they? But, that doesn't mean it isn't enjoyable. Sometimes the days when we are struggling to piece together an itinerary, and seems like none of the "puzzle pieces" aren't fitting... then a breakthrough happens and it all becomes clear.


“A mother is someone who you can laugh with, dream with, and love with all your heart.”

Those tough days are our identity days. It challenges how strong we can be individually, and how strong we are together! We shoulder-up and work together. Together is the only way to go.


Might As Well Laugh About It

Those times that I just mentioned where the days can seem frustrating... when nothing is going right, and perhaps on top of that we are tired and hungry. Those aren't really fun times. But, when all else fails, we laugh it off. My grandma used to say, "well you might as well laugh about it."


I love that mentality. My mom and I really embrace this. When things feel out of control, we cherry-pick for the good news, we'll take a coffee break and find something fun/funny to laugh about.


Honestly, there are times when the situation can be so unbelievable, that the moment itself can be hilarious. Has that ever happened to you, too?


5 Minutes Of Freak Out

Noted above - travel industry work is a BLAST because we get to travel and pamper mom & daughter groups! A new city every week. Also noted above, there are times of struggle. :)


Laughter is the cure-all potion. My mom introduced the idea of 5 Minutes of Freak Out to me when I was 18 years old. So, your day is going south. Nothing seems to be working for you. Your insecurities are on the rise and you don't feel like there is a way out? Perhaps the circumstances are out of your control? You emotions are valid. Your situation is valid.


You have 5 minutes. Let it all out! Freak out. Scream. Cry. Take all those emotions and let it out.


After your 5 minutes are up. Get yourself back together, touch up your hair and makeup, take a sip of coffee, and get on with your day.


"My mom has never let me schedule a 4 o'clock appointment to 'wallow in self-pity.' She allows me the freedom to be upset, but she refuses to let me camp in that space. "


It's All About Our Guests

We are fully committed to the mission of Karue. We genuinely care for each one of our guests. One of our favorite parts about hosting mother-daughter tours is that we get to celebrate other mother-daughter teams. We get to learn about what their relationships look like and what they love about one another.


What's more, we get to create custom itineraries that pamper them. How often to women get to take time to themselves? Even if it is vacation with their families, they generally the ones who had to plan everything. They are the ones who make sure everyone has eaten and has a place to stay. They have to order the tickets and pack the bags.


Through Karue, we take care of ALL of that. Leaving them completely and 100% responsible-free. That way, we can truly help them unplug from the world, and reconnect with each other.


No matter what kind of minuscule issue my mom and I are dealing with, it pairs in comparison to the mission that has been set forth in the manifestation of Karue. That is where the motivation remains.


That is what it really is like to work with your mom.



rosie red.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I've written in my journal every day for the last 7 years. 

After years of thinking my writing wasn't good enough for people to read, I decided to take a chance and publish my work. 

Writing has helped me reflect on my day, grow closer to God, and to remember all the beautiful times I've had while traveling. 

Join the Karue newsletter to stay up to date on trip giveaways, tour openings, blog posts, and more!

Screen%20Shot%202021-02-14%20at%2012.52_

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page