top of page

Coffee Tastes Like Tomatoes... Let Me Explain.


In 2018 I was chilling at Carabello Coffee in Newport, KY. Right after a morning game of working with the Cincinnati Reds, I had the whole afternoon to myself.


So, I walked across the bridge to Newport and settled at Carabello. I ordered a plain latte and sat at a little booth by the window.


I took a sip of this strong latte, and I couldn't help by think it tasted just like tomato soup. I thought I was crazy... but it tasted good so I drank it all.


Years prior, there were other occasions where a dark roast coffee would catch my tastebuds off guard and give me a hint of 'matoes.


After the latte incident, a couple weeks later, I got a plain cup of coffee at Starbucks, and that bold roast taste very similar to tomatoes as well...


I kept asking my friends and family if their coffee ever tasted like tomatoes, and the only responded with a laughing "what? no."


I jumped on Google to begin my search for why my tastebuds are going whack.

Apparently my tastebuds are gifted.

Gifted is an arrogant word to use. But, in fact I do have sensitive taste buds. This is what allows me to taste the tomatoe-y flavor.


In fact, this is how people taste-test coffee (you know, the professionals coffee people). They state that coffee beans originating from Kenya, "are grown in areas without shade, and the processing uses a post fermentation soak that can last over a day. This results in a sweet flavor characteristic to the coffees. In some cases, this results in a more tomato-like acidity, while in other cases a tartness that you will detect immediately. It’s a tropical taste that many coffee experts admit is their favorite. (Roasty Coffee)"


Anyone else run into this same thing with their coffee tastings?


















“How to Taste Coffee Like a Barista.” Roasty Coffee, 18 Dec. 2020, www.roastycoffee.com/taste-coffee/.

rosie red.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I've written in my journal every day for the last 7 years. 

After years of thinking my writing wasn't good enough for people to read, I decided to take a chance and publish my work. 

Writing has helped me reflect on my day, grow closer to God, and to remember all the beautiful times I've had while traveling. 

Join the Karue newsletter to stay up to date on trip giveaways, tour openings, blog posts, and more!

Screen%20Shot%202021-02-14%20at%2012.52_

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page