top of page

Top 7 Coffee Shops


"We should get coffee sometime."


I think there are many ways we fellowship: traveling, taking a hike, eating dinner, and drinking coffee. Coffee is one of my favorite ways to connect.


My most memorable moments of laugher and vulnerability have occurred in a coffee shop. My heaviest tears have fallen in my latte. My cup runs over with tears. The ones from a deep belly laugh, to a mournful tribulation.

Nearly every city has at least one cute, quaint, hometown coffee shop. I like to find them wherever I go! This is one way for me to get my caffeine fix AND support local businesses. Here are my top 7 favorite coffee shops.


7 - Velocity Bike and Bean

Florence, Kentucky

For two years I lived in the Cincinnati area, and place was right down the street from where I worked! This coffee shop doubles as a bike repair shop! There are bicycles packed in the back of the cafe while they are brewing fresh cups in the front.


The ambience of this coffee shop is cozy. You know the feeling you get when it's raining outside and you are tucked away in your home with a blanket and a good book? This place is that feeling brought to life. Warm and cozy - despite their bike maintenance in the back.


If I was more of a cyclist, I would totally bike here everyday!


6 - Robeks

Washington, D.C.

Just blocks from the White House sits Robeks. Known mostly for their delicious smoothies, they also have some outstanding coffee. Simple and bold flavors.


Best part about coffee shops in Washington, D.C. is that you can find them on every block. Plus, most people bike, walk, or use public transportation, it is easy to move about without a car. So, grab your coffee and walk around the District to see the beautiful monuments and museums (just don't bring your coffee inside).


5 - Rock n' Joe

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

While in Pittsburgh watching the Cincinnati Reds vs. Pittsburgh Pirates game in 2019, I stopped at this open window coffee shop called Rock n' Joe. Outstanding rich and bold regular coffee. The barista was kind enough to let me try a sample of their cold brew too.


Veryyy strong - felt like it was running through my veins right away!


The coffee was delicious, but perhaps my favorite part was the architecture. This shop sat on a corner, and the walls were made of windows that retracted when the weather was nice. There was also 2 levels to the shop: top floor for studying and dining - bottom floor for coffee and patio seating.


Being the middle of baseball season, the weather was lovely and thus all the window/doors were drawn back. We relaxed on the patio in the summer breeze.


4 - Winan's Coffee and Chocolates

Piqua, Ohio

My freshman year of college's studying spot! Located right across the street from school, I was able to attend class and then walk to the coffee shop to study with my friends.


Not only is Winan's great for a good cup of coffee, but their chocolate is what hits it out of the park for me. Ohio is the Buckeye State and at Winan's they showcase their peanut butter - chocolate candy the buckeye. My grandma made these when I was younger and past the recipe on to my mom... however, I think Winan's recipe might top granny's.


Just don't tell her I said that!


3 - Cafe Sasso

Rochester, New York

Ya'll! This one could have gone number one... but... #2 and #1 were tough to beat. Cafe Sasso - incredible ambience. Funky urban artwork plastered all over the walls - all by hipster local artists.


The lattes here were unique and delicious. Their version of the Honey Bear finally lived up to its name - HONEY PACKED! Which is how it should be with a name like that, right?


This place was very special because I got to spend time with my family. I don't always get to travel with relatives, but this trip has a special place in my heart because of who I got to enjoy it with.


Could you image decorating a room in your house like this? Wouldn't that be kind of fun.

2 - French Broad Chocolate Lounge

Asheville, North Carolina

1 - Frothy Monkey

Nashville, Tennessee

Hands down my favorite coffee shop.



ME & YOU... YEAH, WE NEED TO GET COFFEE SOON!

rosie red.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I've written in my journal every day for the last 7 years. 

​

After years of thinking my writing wasn't good enough for people to read, I decided to take a chance and publish my work. 

​

Writing has helped me reflect on my day, grow closer to God, and to remember all the beautiful times I've had while traveling. 

Join the Karue newsletter to stay up to date on trip giveaways, tour openings, blog posts, and more!

Screen%20Shot%202021-02-14%20at%2012.52_

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page